My Shabby Cabs!

After many many indecisive discussions with my husband, I finallllly painted our kitchen cabinets!

It’s kind of scary.  Will it look good?  Is my husband gonna kill me? Yiiikes!  Dipping that paint brush and putting the first stroke of paint on our maple cabinets was quite difficuit.  It happened.  It’s done.  We LOVE them!

First, I took a cabinet painting class at Pigeon in the Parlour.  I highly recommend the class.  They offer other classes as well.

We decided to lighten the kitchen and chose “Old White” chalk paint by Annie Sloan.

Step 1:  Pictures

Take a before picture. You won’t regret it!

Featured image

Featured image

Step 2:  PREP

This is 80% of the job, folks!  It’s a lot of work.  But, if you take your time and do it right, you will have BETTER results.

Clean your cabinets and drawers and clean them good!  Our cabinets are gross …. lots of “gunk.”

Then, tape.  Tape, tape, and tape some more ….

Step 3:  Paint

Featured image

Featured image

Step 4:  Sand

I used a 220 sanding block and did a light distressing on all cabinets and drawers. Everyone has their own style of distressing.  I like to distress where “normal” wear and tear would exist.  I also did an all over light sanding.

Step 5:  Wax

Some people don’t want to wax their cabinets, we chose to wax.  Brush the wax on.  You only need a small amount.  Then immediately wipe off the excess wax.  The paint is very porous and will soak that wax right in.  The color will change slightly.  Let sit for at least 24 hours.  It will take approximately 30 days for the wax to fully harden and cure.  After 24 hours has gone by, buff.  You can purchase a buffing brush or I’ve used pieces of a paper bag before.  This brings out the shine!  I have had no issues with ours, thus far.  Love love!

Tip:  I did not take the cabinet doors off.  Our hinges are on the inside of the cabinets so I painted over the hinge hardware.  If you do take your doors off, label each one and put the hardware in a bag.  Each door is different and you don’t want to be messing around with matching doors after you spend so many hours painting.

Featured image

A close up, final.

Featured image

Now, the paint color ….  I think it’s going to be in this family of colors (See below).  I want the cabinets to pop against the wall color.  Also, that’s the granite we picked out! Heck.yah.baby!  I’m pumped!

Featured image

Our current contender is top row, far left.  What do you think of the color choice?

2 thoughts on “My Shabby Cabs!

Leave a Reply

